Good times: When architects go wild


Bowties and awards vied for preeminence in the main dining room at Farmington Country Club Saturday night, October 1, at the annual awards banquet of the local chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

A 2005 Honor Award for Design Excellence went to Bruce Wardell for his design of an addition to Grace Episcopal Church, and another went to VMDO for Canal Basin Square in Scottsville. But that was just the beginning.

A sort of lifetime achievement award was bestowed upon Jack Rinehart. And Steve Runkle and the Building Goodness Foundation earned special citations for community service. Even Helene Austin, not an architect but the coordinator of the festivities, brought home a citation.

Summing up the evening, she said, "A good time was had by all."

Winner Bruce Wardell with Julie and Tom Estes of Grace Episcopal Church

Rob Winstead, representing VMDO Architects, winners of the 2005 Honor Award for Design Excellence for the Scottsville Canal Basin Square project

Jim Boyd, AIA chapter president, with Duncan Abernathy of the Richmond-based Virginia Society AIA

Kirk Train won the 2005 Community Service Award.

M. Jack Rinehart Jr., winner of the Milton LaTour Grigg Award, the most prestigious award of the evening, with his wife, Sally Rinehart, and Wally Cooke

Stephen N. Runkle with Brenda Yordy, who represents the Building Goodness Foundation

Establishing shot