Herskowitz named tops in touring

Film festival director Richard Herskowitz has been named the Tourism Person of the Year by the local tourist board, according to a release. The presentation occurred last night at a ceremony inside the brand new Visitor Center.

Director of the Virginia Film Festival for 13 years, Herskowitz has become something of a local institution– sorta like the Festival itself which began in 1988.

“The Virginia Film Festival is both a signature event which draws thousands of visitors to our region and a showcasing of the Charlottesville area to current and future filmmakers,” said Mark Shore, director of the Charlottesville Albemarle Convention & Visitors Bureau, the group that handed out the award.

Wanna know who won in the past? Dig this:

2006 – Greg MacDonald for his longstanding and continuous local leadership and the spirit he exemplifies within the tourism industry.
2005 – Felicia Warburg Rogan for her Passionate Vision and Outstanding Leadership in promoting Virginia's Wine Industry.
2004 – Nancy Damon, whose vision, passion and energy has guided the growth of the Virginia Festival of the Book into a nationally recognized event.
2003 – Kat Imhoff, Monticello COO for her coordination and leadership of local and national Lewis & Clark Bicentennial commemorations.
2002 – Bryan Elliott for his leadership promoting the Charlottesville Airport after Sept. 11, 2001.
2001 – Bobbye Cochran, for her extraordinary vision and efforts in leading the tourism industry in the area as the CACVB Director.
2000 – Helen Driver, Wintergreen for her role in attracting Camp Jeep to the region.
1999 – Patricia Kluge for her support of the Virginia Film Festival.
1998 – Susan Allen for her role in promoting tourism while she was Virginia’s First lady.
1997 – City Council & Board of Supervisors for their leadership and vision by significantly increasing the funding of the CACVB. Mayor: Kay Slaughter, BOS Chair: Forrest Marshall.
1996 – Dan Jordan, Thomas Jefferson Foundation’s tourism leadership.