Snooky's opened in 1993 near the Jefferson Theater.
The pre-fire facade was a dramatic confection of Renaissance exuberance for a prominent dress shop.
One of the Downtown Mall's more unusual façades may soon change, now that the Board of Architectural Review has, at its November 15 meeting, approved the removal of the expanse of cedar shakes that has long covered the front of Snooky's pawn shop. Current owner/operator Jamie Sacco hopes that a once-festive pink marble front erected in 1932-33 may survive underneath. The building burned in 1949 when serving as Levy's, a dress shop that has since moved to Barracks Road Shopping Center. Sacco found a photograph revealing the 1930s design, which featured exuberant tiles and showcase windows on the now-removed second story– plus a dramatic, neon-lit center opening, which Sacco hopes to restore as an apartment terrace.